Jamesb101.com

commentary on Politics and a little bit of everything else

Thoughts on the Afghan Surge…..

I have heard two things this morning on the Presidents up coming surge in Afghanistan…and bothy trouble me…..

One…..The surge is being mentioned as a short-term solution with the pull back date being the selling point…..If Obama sticks with this policy he’s wasting his time…..The bad guys can read….As in Iraq….They will just take a vacation and come back rested when the troops go home…bad policy….

Two…While giving McChrystal the troops he wanted I hear White House Press Secretary Gibbs announcing…’No Nation Building”…huh?

If there is no Nation building…there will be no be no permanent peace…we will be like the old Soviet Union campaign there…Afghanistan as it is today is corrupt, poor undeveloped nation…our concept of the place only exists in a few big cities…..if the country is left to fend for its own a year or two from now it will descend back into a feudal third century country with a few major cities….

I hope I’m wrong..but a quick fix over there is a recipe for failure coming out the gate……

 

December 1, 2009 - Posted by | Government, Media, Men, Military, Politics | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Obama is gonna have LBJ-esque lite policies once the backlash gets BIGGER.

    My father told me that Obama is getting more and more closer to becoming another Jimmy Carter.

    Comment by Conservative Democrat | December 3, 2009 | Reply

  2. don’t believe it…….I’ll be back in a hour…

    Comment by jamesb101 | December 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment